Researcher Barry Sharpless received the Nobel Prize in Chemistry, which was awarded to two Americans and one Dane, for the second time

The discoveries of the Americans Carolyn Bertozzi and Barry Sharpless and the Dane Morten Meldal led to “click” and “bioorthogonal” chemistry, two branches of modern chemistry.

Article written by


To update

Reading time : 1 minute.

The 2022 Nobel Prize in Chemistry was awarded on Wednesday, October 5, to Americans Carolyn Bertozzi and Barry Sharpless and Denmark’s Morten Meldal for their work on “click” and “bioorthogonal” chemistryannounced the Nobel Committee from Stockholm (Sweden).

Barry Sharpless, 81, is only the fifth person to win a Nobel Prize twice. In 2001 he had already won the chemistry prize for his discoveries on the technology of asymmetric catalysis.

The American researcher from California and the 58-year-old Dane Morten Meldal from the University of Copenhagen are being honored for their pioneering work in “click chemistry”, a new way of connecting molecules. This is used in particular to develop pharmaceutical treatments, map DNA or create new materials.

American Carolyn Bertozzi, 55, is credited with inventing bio-orthogonal chemistry, a chemical reaction described as being able to be initiated in a living organism but without disturbing or altering its chemical nature.

German Benjamin List and Briton David Macmillan were awarded in 2021 for inventing a new type of catalyst to make new molecules cheaper and cleaner. In 2020, the French Emmanuelle Charpentier and the American Jennifer Doudna were awarded for the “molecular scissors”.

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *